2013 NBA Slam Dunk Participants


Last night the NBA announced this year’s field for the 2013 Sprite Slam Dunk Contest.

The list isn’t filled with the league’s biggest super stars, and may leave the “casual” NBA fan wondering who all the contestants are. But we — the die hard basketball fans — know this year’s dunk contest on February 16th has the opportunity to be a great one.

Jeremy Evans will be defending his title from last year, and will be going against one of the best dunkers I have seen in James “Flight” White. The rest of the field includes veteran dunker Gerald Green, Eric Bledsoe, Kenneth “Manimal” Faried, and rookie Terrence Ross.

Green, White, and Evans all have the length and athleticism to wow the crowd and all have prior experience in prime time dunk contests. Don’t sleep on rookie Terrence Ross, who has been dunking all over the league and has the potential to sneak up and blow away the competition. Eric Bledsoe is the shortest of the group, and may play to the crowd with the ‘Spud Webb Effect’, more recently known as the ‘Nate Robinson Effect’. Kenneth Faried is more of a power dunker, but the fans love seeing aggressive strong throw downs. I wonder if he will try and break the backboard?

So who are you taking as your 2013 Dunk Contest winner? Let us know in the comment section below.

Who do you have winning the Slam Dunk contest?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...


If you need some help deciding, here are some video highlights, starting with Gerald Green vs. James White in Russia from 2010:

 James White vs. Gerald Green


Jeremy Evans

James White

Gerald Green

Terrence Ross

Kenneth Faried

Eric Bledsoe


If you enjoyed this article, make sure you subscribe to our RSS feed!